Lan’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — lawnka @ 6:03 pm

During the time we spend on learning attributes of modern literature I will attempt to show my class mates the relation between paintings and novels through a visual context.

For example, for those who have read “The Killers” by Ernest Hemingway, a painting that would best fit the story would be “Nighthawks” by Edward Hopper.

painting

 

5 Responses to “…”

  1. cgbaz Says:

    Good call, Lan. Can you embed an image of that painting and then talk about it a bit?

  2. kelp19 Says:

    I definitely see your points, and I do agree. But I also still think she could have been more humble towards them since she isn’t as good as they thought. Although she said multiple times she didn’t, I think she felt she was superior to them. That’s why I do have sympathy, but I think of her more of a psycho than anything. That’s just the way I saw it, but I also get where you’re coming from.

  3. Nicole Says:

    You are the first person I have seen that is exploring the impressionism aspect. I didn’t even think of this when i was choosing a topic. It’s cool that you can tie this project in with your own love of art, too. Hopper’s picture definitely fits the setting for The Killers, although i wonder what Ernie would have chosen to go with his story. With a play like Streetcar would you be able to pick one photo to “summarize” the whole story, or would you do more of a slide show type of ordeal?

  4. ashcp4 Says:

    Its really cool that you can fit the pictures to stories, I could never do that. You must have a different take on the stories we read than me, or anyone else because as Nicole said you’re the only one doing impressionism. Its a little weird how that picture can be fit to The Killers and the poems we were reading before.

  5. mopo07 Says:

    Loved how you used this pic. It is perfect to be used in getting a quick visual of the killers. It seems like it’s from the story. Good job and love your attribute. This should be a good one.


Leave a comment